Black – not feeling so funny

Actor Jack Black has been bedridden for a week – after doctors told him he was clinically not funny.

As a result of this diagnosis the High Fidelity star has spent the last week unable to leave the house.

Black insists he had no idea what was wrong with him at the time, although he became convinced he was dying every time he performed live.

He says, “Just last weekend, I thought I was being funnier than I’d been in a long time. I was pulling this really hilarious face and making a grunting noise. Honestly, man, I was laughing so hard I let out this huge fart. I’m not going into the grisly details, but it was explosive. I was wondering whether I had jumped the shark or whether I was actually the only person who found myself funny and the doctor said it was the latter.”

Black, who was at home with his wife and two young sons, was terrified he might pass on his condition to little Sam, three, and Thomas, 12 months: “It’s harder when you’ve got two babies, because you’re making all these noises and faces and stuff and being real funny, then you’re stopping yourself ‘cos you don’t want them to start doing the same thing, but funnier. It’s a constant battle to be funny.”

And the star admits the most embarrassing incident came after he had seen a doctor, who ordered him to give a 5 minute sample of his routine.

Black adds, “We had the doctor come over, he wanted a sample, so I gave him a sample. But he didn’t smile once – he said ‘Who the hell are you again?’. I felt a little vulnerable not to be recognized at that moment.”

 

[15/06/2009]

Leave a Reply

