Murray title quest in jeopardy as he faces a player people have heard of

Andy Murray’s Wimbledon odyssey could come to an abrupt end as he faces Spain’s Juan Carlos Ferrero – a player whose name people actually recognize – in the men’s quarter-finals later today.

Murray yesterday revealed the reason he came so close to defeat against Switzerland’s Stanislas Wawrinka: “A mate of mine texted me before the game to say he’d seen this guy’s name somewhere before and that he thought he might be familiar, though he couldn’t be sure. That sent me into a bit of a panic and I ended up looking like someone who’d never played before and losing the first set by something like 4 games.

“But just after that he sent me another message saying that he was actually thinking of a Polish politician with a similar name. That was a huge weight off my shoulders and I won the next 2 sets on the bounce.”

Unfortunately his joy was short-lived, as a phone call from his mum after the 3rd set threw his campaign into tailspin once again: “She was saying ‘You remember him, he was in the juniors at the same time as you. They said he was the best 16-year-old they’d ever seen, do you remember? And you remember he beat you and you were in tears, weren’t you? Said you never wanted to play tennis again, you remember’, which took me right back to that day and made me feel vulnerable again. I started thinking that this guy could beat me quite easily, just as he did all those years ago – and this led to me losing the 4th set.”

Luckily, Murray’s fortunes took a turn for the better just afterwards as his mum revealed to him that it was actually his brother who cried inconsolably after losing to Wawrinka all those years ago: “My head was all over the place by that point, but once I pieced everything together it made perfect sense and I avenged my brother’s defeat by winning that last set.”

But Murray, 22, could be facing a major stumbling block in his upcoming match against Ferrero, the former world number 1, as he is far more famous than any of his previous opponents: “I’ve been pretending to myself that he’s actually the South African former world number 11 Wayne Ferrera – hopefully that should see me through.”

Leave a Reply

