Your Money – with Peter Jones

TV’s famous Dragon whores out his name to badly-written Sky Magazine column every month

Phew! Just completed the Dragon’s Den tour which has been fantastic and the public response has been brilliant throughout. I can’t wait for the next one! If you’re missing Dragon’s Den, don’t forget to take a look at the last series on channel Dave, or alternatively, catch series 3 on channel Watch. I’ve been reliving some of the classic moments recently, including the doggy treadmill – what was James Caan thinking? Hilarious! You wouldn’t catch me committing that sort of money to something which is so obviously doomed to failure.

Anyway, those of you who watch the show will remember my acquisition of the Cambridge-based band Hamfatter. I’ve been surveying the recording of their latest album and I’ve got to say, it sounds pretty sick! I think they’ve got what it takes to be successful, and with my money behind them the sky’s the limit. As far as I’m concerned they’re Britain’s answer to The Strokes and are going to be massive. Both of their singles have broken the top 100 already, the first of which almost made the top 50 – and all within just two years. Incredible!

I’m looking forward to Hallowe’en this year, as it’s great fun for all our family. I like to scare the trick-or-treaters who come to our door by putting a bolt through my neck, rolling my eyes back and pretending to be Frankenstein’s monster. You should see how quickly they run the 500 yards back to the front gates! That’ll teach them for begging. You won’t get anywhere in business with that attitude. When I was a youngster I used to do my own version of trick-or-treating where I would dress up as a giant bat and perform my “trick” of washing my neighbours’ cars in return for a cash “treat”. It was good fun for everyone, financially viable and, most importantly, no property was ever vandalised.

My writer is starting to run out of ideas now, so this is a good point to mention some of the incredible businesses I have in my portfolio. Red Letter Days is a fantastic events company that I run along with fellow Dragon Theo Paphitis. If you’re looking for a day out with a difference at a competitive price you could do worse than visit http://www.redletterdays.co.uk.

Moneysupermarket.com is also well worth a look for great savings – you may have seen the television advert featuring yours truly rifling through the aisles on a trolley…WHEEEEEE!!!!

Reggae Reggae Sauce has revolutionised the way people eat barbecued chicken in this country, netting its creator Levi Roots several hundred thousand pounds, and several million for myself. Levi has shrewdly stayed ahead of the game since the Den by diversifying his range of wonderful sauces, which the nation have taken to their hearts. This has led to a healthy and richly deserved profit for both of us.

If you’re looking to buy wine for corporate functions, wines4business.com is well worth checking out. Alcohol is a great fuel which makes time pass that bit quicker, and is particularly useful for withstanding the tedium of corporate events. There is nothing more important to a business than serving the correct wine and this site provides a fantastic way for companies to choose the right wine – every time!

Wow! I’ve managed to make it to the end of this column without having to get someone else to draw up a price comparison list of items loosely linked to the time of year which anyone could find for themselves using kelkoo. Result!

Til next month,

Peter x

Leave a Reply

