Geldof – “nothing like mother”

Wild child Peaches Geldof says she is fed up with being compared to her mum, despite the fact that nobody has ever made any such comparison.

Geldof insists she is completely different from Paula Yates, who died from an accidental drug overdose at the age of 41. “I’m totally fed up with literally everyone saying I’m just like her. I mean, for goodness sake. I couldn’t be any more different from her. She was an amazing presenter, very provocative and flirty, and a really funny writer,” said the celebrity sibling yesterday.

“In fact I can’t think of one way in which we are alike. She was hard-working, clever and determined and her acidic wit was more than a match for anyone who came up against her. I don’t believe I’m like her at all – I like to think I’m going in totally my own direction, that I’m my own person. My mum was classy, feisty and a joy to be around. People gravitated to her wherever she went and I find it insulting that anyone would want to tarnish her legacy by making lazy comparisons between us, just because we’re blood-related. Plus her surname’s not even the same as mine. I mean, duhhh…” she added.

The daughter of the famous couple is keen to set the record straight and is adamant she is in no way similar to her father, Sir Bob Geldof, either: “Don’t be ridiculous! I’m nothing like him. He’s shrewd, pro-active and extremely kind-hearted. People keep telling me in my head that we’re the same, but they’re so totally off the mark.”

Sir Bob’s eldest daughter’s comments are part of an interview with Fearne Cotton for an ITV2 special to be shown later this week.

3 Responses to “Geldof – “nothing like mother””

  1. dleighmiad Says:

    As a Yank, I’m barely aware of Peaches Geldof’s existence. However, a quick search on YouTube yielded the following clip. Probably the longest nine minutes, forty-one seconds of my entire life…

  2. dleighmiad Says:

    In the States, we have our share of incompetent morning show hosts, but nothing to compare the likes of, “”5 Stone? Wow that’s concentration camp thin that is”. Good lord, what a twit!

Leave a Reply

