Your Money – with Peter Jones

TV’s famous Dragon whores out his name to badly-written Sky Magazine column every month

I’m really excited this month as there’s a new entrepreneur show on one of the Sky channels that’s just like Dragon’s Den – the show which I’m involved in. I can’t wait!

Britain’s recession continues to bite and many working families will struggle in the run-up to Christmas. It can be a miserable time of year for many people, especially in this current climate, so what better way to blow away the cobwebs than with a nice relaxing holiday? I’ve just been to Barbados for the half term break and I’m feeling great! I thoroughly recommend it, and skyscanner.net is a good site to check out if you’re looking to knock a couple of quid off flights. Otherwise, moneysupermarket.com – the other price comparison site I have an affiliation to – is as good a place as any to find cheaper deals.

If you’re looking to dine out on-the-cheap I’ve got just the ticket – simply cut out the coupon at the bottom of this page and you could save up to £1 on a specific family meal deal at Pizza Hut. You will need to hurry, though, as the offer runs out tomorrow at midday. You may find that certain branches have no knowledge of this offer whatsoever. If this is the case, just mention my name and you should be OK.

I’m looking forward to Children In Need this year. I’ll be doing my bit by joining in with the general revelry, plus I will be donating half my fee for this column (which works out at around £2500) direct to Children In Need. I recommend you do the same – it’s thoroughly rewarding! Philanthropy is a fantastic way to alleviate the underlying guilt caused by enormous personal wealth, plus it helps needy kids, which is great! So come on, don’t feel guilty – give half your money to charity today. You won’t regret it!

Looking for a sure-fire way to save money? Then you’ve come to the right column. You could save £100s by not buying any of the following items:

Solar Briefcase – £79.99

Tefal Quick Cup Kettle – £59.99

Andy Warhol Campbell’s Soup Women’s Watch – £90.00

Set Of Children’s Kitchen Utensils – £29.00

Everlasting Love Diamond Ring – £204.00

My ghost writer has particularly recommended not buying the last item, as this can save you over £200, meaning more £££s in your pocket for Christmas.

Most of you will probably be making arrangements for your office Christmas party around this time of year. You might not think it, but you can actually save money without ruining your overall enjoyment of your works’ do by not drinking any alcohol. Alcohol is expensive and can be dangerous in excessive amounts, so play safe this year and save money by drinking tap water instead. You can take a glass into the toilets and fill up from the sink every now and again to ensure you’re never left standing empty-handed. You might worry about your colleagues thinking you’re a bit of a killjoy, but I never drink at my company parties and I’m always the most popular person there! You may also worry that people will give you funny looks when refilling your glass, but you’d be surprised – none of my employees have so much as raised an eyebrow whenever I’ve done it. In fact, at last year’s office party I had cause to wash my entire upper body over the sink and none of my staff even batted an eyelid – result!

Right, I’m just about done for this month. Enjoy bonfire night and remember – you can save money by looking at your neighbours’ firework displays instead of paying for your own.

Happy Guy Fawkes!

Peter x

Leave a Reply

