Your Money – with Peter Jones

TV’s famous Dragon no longer whores out his name to badly-written Sky Magazine column every month after its editor refused to return any of his messages

Well that’s it, folks. The end of an era. Yours truly had been writing for Sky Magazine just over 18 months, but unfortunately all good things must come to an end, and it is with a heavy heart that I tell you this is to be my last column for the foreseeable future. Once again, Sky Magazine left out my column for the second month in a row, and Lysanne Currie hasn’t returned a single message of mine in the last 6 weeks. I’m not sure whether I’m still wanted at Sky or not, but I have to draw a line somewhere and have decided to concentrate my focus solely on my massive, burgeoning business portfolio.

Anyway, on to happier subjects – did you have a good Christmas? I did. Our family had a fantastic Chrimbo, but I think I overdid things a bit. Luckily we have a fully-equipped family gym in our basement, so I’ve been able to work off those excess pounds in no time! You should try exercise – it’s totally exhilarating! Indoor gyms only cost a few thousand pounds and the positive effects are priceless. So come on everyone, turn over a new leaf for 2010 and invest in your family’s future right now!

Speaking of the new year, I’ve been busy making my new year’s resolutions – mainly to spend more quality money with my family. I’m the sort of guy who likes to work hard AND play hard, but often I get caught up in going the extra mile to clinch that all-important deal. I’ve also spent a lot of time in the Den, having filmed an extra series last year due to the show’s growing popularity. Dragon’s Den is a fantastic little programme, but it does mean I have to spend days away from home, which isn’t so good. This year will be different as I’ve resolved to spend time with my family to rediscover and appreciate the truly important things in life, such as our wonderful yacht, fine dining and luxury holidays abroad.

You may have noticed how bad the weather has been recently, with severe warnings and heavy snowfall up and down the country. There was almost a foot of snow last week in Windsor, where we live. Last Thursday I was due to meet a couple of Virgin Media executives at my local country club and I almost got to the end of our driveway in the Jaguar before I had to surrender to the elements 500 feet before the gate. It was crazy! Luckily I managed to fit my Land Rover with a set of heavy duty snow chains I had imported from the States – after that, the ¾ mile journey seemed to pass in no time! Honestly, you should have seen the looks on the pedestrians’ faces as I crashed through the sheets of snow and ice on our high street! Bang! Bang! Bang! Goodbye snow! Hopefully I dislodged enough to enable other motorists to travel a bit easier.

Now that the snow has melted round our way, it is astonishing to see just how much damage the ice has done to the tarmac on the roads, especially on the route from our house to the country club – it’s horrendous! Someone should put a warning sign up on the B3022 as the loose tarmac could cause a nasty crash, especially around Cranbourne – phew! Dicey!

I will finish this column by sharing with you my 3 golden rules to maintain healthy personal finances – earn more, spend less and be sensible. If you adhere to these principles you will never go wrong, no matter what walk of life you are from (unless you’re poor). I will miss every single one of you and I hope you have enjoyed our monetary journey together. You can follow me on Twitter – you should all go on Twitter, it’s incredible! You’ll wonder how you ever managed without it. You can see what I’m doing at any time and I’m forever leaving amusing status updates – from my trusty Blackberry ™ of course!

TTFN, I love you…

Peter xxx

Leave a Reply

